Bummer of a story

Discussion in 'More Serious Topics' started by moremetal4mepls, Dec 3, 2008.

1. moremetal4mepls

moremetal4mepls New Member

I had a patient I have been dialyzing for almost 2 years now. Super cool guy we would sit and talk music, movies, always have a trivia question or a funny joke to tell to each other. Anyway Thursday he called me to the back of the clinic and told me how much he appriciated my kindness and for not only being his nurse, but his friend as well, he started crying, kissed me on the forehead and said I love you for all of this. Told me bye and he wouldnt be back. Dude has been doing dialysis for 28 years and recently found out he was going to have his legs amputated.
    What is one to do in the situation? I knew his health was rapidly deterating.
    I started crying and hugged him. I knew what was in store,and I knew he was determined to do it. So I did the only thing I felt was right at the time, I told him I loved him and would see him again one day.
    Got word he went to his field Friday night and cut thru his fistula and bled to death.
    Now I'am beating myself up with what if's. I dont usually get upset over pt's deaths but his death has really got me fucked up in the head.
    Did I do the right thing by letting him make his own choice knowing he was tired and things were only soon to get worse, or should I of intervened. :frown:

2. BIGMAMA

BIGMAMA New Member

there is nothing you could have said or done to stop it.

My grandfather was doing home hospice care, had his mind all in tact but his body and quality of life had gone to hell. He begged me for weeks to kill him, or to give him his gun. He had grown a huge tolerance to the pain meds ... was having 60+ crushed and put in his feeding tube... plus was on a morphine pump.

He looked at me with hate in his eyes for me not giving him his gun. Instead , he went a nicer/cleaner way of ODing